706876 VU Special Topics 1: Asteroseismology

summer semester 2022 | Last update: 06.12.2021 Place course on memo list
706876
VU Special Topics 1: Asteroseismology
VU 3
5
weekly
every 2nd year
English

The students should understand the contents of the lecture (i.e., the principles of asteroseismology and the method of frequency analysis) and be able to apply their newly gained knowledge to real scientific data that will be made available.

Asteroseismology, the analysis of stellar oscillations, is the only method that allows us to investigate the inner structures of stars. Stars in different evolutionary stages show a variety of oscillations that can be analyzed with data from space and from ground. In this lecture I will introduce the principles and methods of asteroseismology. It will be possible to apply the newly gained knowledge to latest scientific data.

Presentation, direct application of the methods to real scientific data

Course examination according to § 7, statute section on "study-law regulations"

 

 

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Thu 2022-03-10
14.30 - 17.00 SR 8/31 SR 8/31
Thu 2022-03-17
14.30 - 17.00 SR 8/31 SR 8/31
Thu 2022-03-24
14.30 - 17.00 SR 8/31 SR 8/31
Thu 2022-03-31
14.30 - 17.00 SR 8/31 SR 8/31
Thu 2022-04-07
14.30 - 17.00 SR 8/31 SR 8/31
Thu 2022-04-28
14.30 - 17.00 SR 8/31 SR 8/31
Thu 2022-05-05
14.30 - 17.00 SR 8/31 SR 8/31
Thu 2022-05-12
14.30 - 17.00 SR 8/31 SR 8/31
Thu 2022-05-19
14.30 - 17.00 SR 8/31 SR 8/31
Thu 2022-06-02
14.30 - 17.00 SR 8/31 SR 8/31
Thu 2022-06-09
14.30 - 17.00 SR 8/31 SR 8/31
Thu 2022-06-23
14.30 - 17.00 SR 8/31 SR 8/31
Thu 2022-06-30
14.30 - 17.00 SR 8/31 SR 8/31