706855 VU Research analysis: Statistics and Data Analysis

winter semester 2022/2023 | Last update: 24.03.2023 Place course on memo list
706855
VU Research analysis: Statistics and Data Analysis
VU 3
5
weekly
annually
German
Data Analysis and Statistics of data handling

The talk will focus on the general techniques of data processing throughout experimental physics (and beyond). The following topics will be covered: Theory of statistics, statistical distributions, statistical tests, trend analysis (examples mainly from social science), nonparametric tests (Mann-Whitney U, Wilcoxon , Kendall's tau and U, etc. ), fitting of data, creation of arbitrary generators of random numbers (general distributions), error estimation, Regular (Gaussian) error propagation in nonlinear mapping, Normal Nyquist-Shannon theory fitting of data and extension of the Nyquist-Shannon theorem for extended measurement intervals. Data analysis in general in the natural sciences and specifically in physics, error distribution and error propagation for non-normally distributed data, separation of background and signal, Fourier and regularization methods for image recognition and image sharpening, time series, parallel systems in data processing (Amdahl's law, paradigms and exercises in practical applications).

Presentations, small project work and assessment based on a single examination act at the end of the course for the lecture part.

Course examination according to § 7, statute section on "study-law regulations"

Will be discussed in the first lesson.

see dates
Group 1
Date Time Location
Fri 2022-10-07
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18
Fri 2022-10-14
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18
Fri 2022-10-21
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18
Fri 2022-10-28
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18
Fri 2022-11-04
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18
Fri 2022-11-11
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18
Fri 2022-11-18
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18
Fri 2022-11-25
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/35 PR 8/35
Fri 2022-12-02
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18
Fri 2022-12-09
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18
Fri 2022-12-16
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18
Fri 2023-01-13
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18
Fri 2023-01-20
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18
Fri 2023-01-27
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18
Fri 2023-02-03
08.30 - 10.45 PR 8/18 PR 8/18