202514 VO Religion and Ethics

winter semester 2023/2024 | Last update: 22.11.2023 Place course on memo list
202514
VO Religion and Ethics
VO 2
5
weekly
every 2nd year
English

The students can distinguish and evaluate a variety of possible relationships between religion and morality.

They can name theories used and present their main features as well as explain details.

Religion and ethics are important areas of human life. Most religions make strong moral claims. But how are the two related to each other? In the lecture we explore philosophically the links between morality and religion.

Lectures and discussions.

Oral exam.

General information on exams, dates and sign-on at the department: https://www.uibk.ac.at/philtheol/pruefungen/.

Gensler, Harry J 2016: Ethics and Religion. Cambridge.
Baggett David / Walls Jerry L 2016: God and Cosmos. Moral Truth and Human Meaning. Oxford.

None.

The lecture is also an Aurora Alliance (https://www.uibk.ac.at/en//international/aurora/) event.

Students of all Aurora universities (incl. Master students of the University of Innsbruck) are invited to apply for participation in this course from August 16 till September 10 at the following link (after this date, registration via the online course catalogue is possible for Innsbruck students): https://www.uibk.ac.at/en/international/aurora/aurora-course-offerings/universitat-innsbruck/

05.10.2023
  • SDG 4 - Quality education: Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all.
Group 0
Date Time Location
Thu 2023-10-05
16.45 - 18.15 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2023-10-12
16.45 - 18.15 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2023-10-19
16.45 - 18.15 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2023-11-09
16.45 - 18.15 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2023-11-16
16.45 - 18.15 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2023-11-23
16.45 - 18.15 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2023-11-30
16.45 - 18.15 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2023-12-07
16.45 - 18.15 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2023-12-14
16.45 - 18.15 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2024-01-11
16.45 - 18.15 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2024-01-18
16.45 - 18.15 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2024-01-25
16.45 - 18.15 eLecture - online eLecture - online
Thu 2024-02-01
14.00 - 18.00 eLecture - online eLecture - online oral exam
Group Booking period
202514-0 2023-09-01 08:00 - 2024-01-22 23:59
Niederbacher B.