800905 ethics and science

summer semester 2012 | Last update: 09.10.2012 Place course on memo list
800905
ethics and science
SE 2
2,5
Block
not applicable
German
Introduction and elaboration of central concepts and methods for the discussion of ethical, legal and social implications of scientific research.
By way of selected case studies as, e.g., the Human Genome Project, ethical issues of contemporary scientific research as well as their potential solutions will be discussed. Special attention will be paid to the concerns of a democratic public and its specific methods of decision-making.
Lecture style plus students’ presentations plus discussions in class
Presentations or end-term papers
Philip Kitcher: Science, Truth and Democracy; Oxford University Press 2003. (Weitere Literaturhinweise im Laufe des Seminars)
not applicable
The seminar will be held as a block course with an additional introductory session. No special requirements for participation.
Group 0
Metschl U.
Date Time Location
Fri 2012-03-09
14.00 - 15.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free Vorbesprechung
Fri 2012-06-08
09.00 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Sat 2012-06-09
09.00 - 13.00 Senatssitzungssaal Senatssitzungssaal Barrier-free
Thu 2012-06-14
13.00 - 17.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2012-06-15
09.00 - 17.00 Container 1 Container 1
Group 1
Metschl U.
Date Time Location
Thu 2012-03-29
16.00 - 17.00 Container 1 Container 1 Vorbesprechung
Thu 2012-06-21
13.00 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Fri 2012-06-22
09.00 - 17.00 SR Josef-Hirn-Straße SR Josef-Hirn-Straße Barrier-free
Thu 2012-06-28
13.00 - 17.00 50109/3 SR 50109/3 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2012-06-29
09.00 - 17.00 50101/1 SR 50101/1 SR Barrier-free