720208 Qualitiative Research Methods

summer semester 2016 | Last update: 25.01.2016 Place course on memo list
720208
Qualitiative Research Methods
SE 2
5
weekly
each semester
German

In the present lecture the students get introduced to the method of qualitative interviews. It is focussed on the problem-centered interviewed which will be exercised in practical application.

The lecture starts by opposing qualitative to quantitative research methods. Strengths and weaknesses of each method will be discussed. Subsequently, methodological-technical aspects of the qualitative interview are introduced in general. In detail, the problem-centered interview is illustrated. The evaluation methods Content Analysis according to Mayring and the Grounded Theory is used for data analysis. Students are expected to develop an interview guideline in small groups. Moreover, they are supposed to conduct as well as transcribe interviews and analyse the data. The whole process (inclusively presentation of results) is supervised by the lecturer.

Theoretical inputs by the lecturer; practical application by students

Term paper

Lamnek, S. (2010). Qualitative Sozialforschung (5.Aufl.). Weinheim: Beltz. Mayring, P. (2008). Qualitative Inhaltsanalyse. Grundlagen und Techniken (10. Aufl.). Weinheim: Beltz. Weitere Literatur wird ggf. im Seminar bekannt gegeben.

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Fri 2016-03-11
10.15 - 11.45 60434 SR 60434 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-03-18
10.15 - 11.45 60434 SR 60434 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-04-08
10.15 - 11.45 60434 SR 60434 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-04-15
10.15 - 11.45 60434 SR 60434 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-04-22
10.15 - 11.45 60434 SR 60434 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-04-29
10.15 - 11.45 60434 SR 60434 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-05-13
10.15 - 11.45 60434 SR 60434 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-05-20
10.15 - 11.45 60408 SR 60408 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-05-27
10.15 - 11.45 60434 SR 60434 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-06-03
10.15 - 11.45 60434 SR 60434 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-06-10
10.15 - 11.45 60434 SR 60434 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-06-17
10.15 - 11.45 60434 SR 60434 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-06-24
10.15 - 11.45 60434 SR 60434 SR Barrier-free
Fri 2016-07-01
10.15 - 11.45 60434 SR 60434 SR Barrier-free