645309 Seminar for the Bachelor's Thesis: In the twilight - the story of the night

winter semester 2016/2017 | Last update: 13.12.2016 Place course on memo list
645309
Seminar for the Bachelor's Thesis: In the twilight - the story of the night
SE 2
7,5
weekly
each semester
German

Capability to independently analyze and contextualize a historical topic according to disciplinary standards; proficiency in independent research and evaluation of relevant sources and secondary literature; competencies in the composition of historical disquisitions (formulation, justification, and defense of arguments).

Most histories focus on day-time activities. The dark hours of the night, however, are also part of the story – although an often neglected one. In the seminar, we will explore the history of the night from multiple perspectives, including night as a social space and area of contention, changes in night-life and night work, cultural perceptions, technological innovations and political practices, as well as theoretical approaches and methodological challenges of nocturnal history.

Oral and written presentations concerning the seminar theme; discussion and consideration of relevant primary sources and secondary literature.

Continuous assessment (based on regular written and/or oral contributions by participants). Seminar paper.

To be discussed at the outset of the course.

not applicable

 

06.10.2016
Group 0
Date Time Location
Thu 2016-10-06
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Thu 2016-10-13
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Thu 2016-10-20
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Thu 2016-10-27
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Thu 2016-11-03
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Thu 2016-11-10
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Thu 2016-11-17
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Thu 2016-11-24
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Thu 2016-12-01
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Thu 2016-12-15
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Thu 2017-01-12
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Thu 2017-01-19
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Thu 2017-01-26
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free
Thu 2017-02-02
13.45 - 15.15 40601 UR 40601 UR Barrier-free