146696 MUS 2001 - Austrian Music: Then and Now

summer semester 2022 | Last update: 18.05.2022 Place course on memo list
146696
MUS 2001 - Austrian Music: Then and Now
SE 3
4
not applicable
annually
English

Specific areas of interest will be studied under the direction of a faculty member. Topics may vary from semester to semester. May be repeated for a maximum of 9 credit hours.

The Sound of Music is the best known and most beloved musical on film. Why was Austria chosen for a musical with music itself as a theme? Like the songs of this musical, Austrian music has always involved a fusion of styles and genres. In this class we will explore fusions of folk, popular, and “art music” styles that led to the masterpieces of Mozart, Beethoven, Haydn, Schubert, and the original king of pop: Johann Strauss II. No musical background is required but you will need access to a device where you can listen to the music selections. After opening lectures on listening, the elements of music, and Austrian culture, we will discuss famous music and its meanings, then and now. You can expect plenty of concert clips, live performances (mine), and 2 field trips to hear music in the Innsbruck area. Workload: 2 musical field reports, midterm, final.

The University of New Orleans International Summer School program has a mandatory class attendance policy. All students are required to attend class for all morning classes and any required afternoon and/or weekend fields trips and lectures. No unexcused absences are allowed. However, LFU students who have to miss a UNO class due to LFU examinations in the first two weeks of our program, can receive one excused absence for this. Any further unexcused absences will result in an academic penalty. Each faculty member determines the penalty for missed classes. Most professors deduct a letter grade for each additional missed class day. For details, please refer to your course syllabi, which will be distributed on the first day of class. The listed ECTS credits are a recommendation by the University of New Orleans Innsbruck Summer School, based on contact hours, anticipated out-of-classroom requirements such as field trips, and projected workload for readings, assignments, and exam preparation. Mail: Center-New-Orleans@uibk.ac.at

see dates
Group 0
Date Time Location
Mon 2022-07-04
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Tue 2022-07-05
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Wed 2022-07-06
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Thu 2022-07-07
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Fri 2022-07-08
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Mon 2022-07-11
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Tue 2022-07-12
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Wed 2022-07-13
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Thu 2022-07-14
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Mon 2022-07-18
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Tue 2022-07-19
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Tue 2022-07-19
13.00 - 19.00 40123 40123 Barrier-free
Wed 2022-07-20
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Wed 2022-07-20
13.00 - 19.00 40123 40123 Barrier-free
Thu 2022-07-21
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Mon 2022-07-25
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Tue 2022-07-26
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Wed 2022-07-27
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Thu 2022-07-28
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Mon 2022-08-01
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Tue 2022-08-02
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Wed 2022-08-03
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Thu 2022-08-04
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Mon 2022-08-08
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Tue 2022-08-09
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Wed 2022-08-10
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Wed 2022-08-10
13.00 - 19.00 40123 40123 Barrier-free
Thu 2022-08-11
08.00 - 09.30 40123 40123 Barrier-free UNO Summer School
Thu 2022-08-11
13.00 - 19.00 40123 40123 Barrier-free