326009 VU Foundations of sustainability of law

winter semester 2022/2023 | Last update: 08.07.2022 Place course on memo list
326009
VU Foundations of sustainability of law
VU 2
3
weekly
annually
German

An overview of ecological, economic and social sustainability will be given, after which the focus shall lie on ecological sustainability. Goal of this course is knowledge and understanding of what risks exist for the preservation of our way of life and what impact current laws have on these risks.

Firstly, the following topics are covered:

  • What is sustainability and how is our current way of living to be protected?
  • What exactly is in the Paris Agreement on climate change?

Afterwards, the focus shall lie on legal sustainability:

  • What concepts for carbon emission tax exist?
  • How is energy production regulated?
  • What are possible legal instruments to encourage renewable energies?
  • What conflicts of interest exist between sustainability goals and politics (e.g. consumer law, species protection, property rights, immission protection)?

Lectures and work in groups

Oral exam

-Mauerhofer/Rupo/Tarquino, Sustainibility and Law

-Zahradnik/Richter-Schöller, Handbuch Nachhaltigkeitsrecht

more literature will be given

06.10.2022
Group 0
Date Time Location
Thu 2022-10-06
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free
Thu 2022-10-13
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free
Thu 2022-10-20
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free
Thu 2022-10-27
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free
Thu 2022-11-03
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free
Thu 2022-11-10
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free
Thu 2022-11-17
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free
Thu 2022-11-24
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free
Thu 2022-12-01
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free
Thu 2022-12-15
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free
Thu 2023-01-12
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free
Thu 2023-01-19
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free
Thu 2023-01-26
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free
Thu 2023-02-02
09.00 - 10.30 SR 3114 SR 3114 Barrier-free