402905 VU Research Designs and Methods I: Design of Political Research

winter semester 2023/2024 | Last update: 11.09.2023 Place course on memo list
402905
VU Research Designs and Methods I: Design of Political Research
VU 2
5
weekly
annually
English

§6(2)1. VU Research Designs und Methods I  (2 / 5)

Students are able to analyse concepts of research projects and to evaluate and reorganize them in terms of suitability for their dissertation project. They know how to put research questions and to constitute their individual choice of method. Students are able to use specific political science-related methods and methods which are relevant for their own research project.

 

The goal of this course is for PhD students to reflect on and improve the design of their thesis. The course will discuss research questions, how to establish causal relationships, concept formation, different types of research design, and different types of data. Students will also have the opportunity to present their own research projects.

There is no specific methodological approach; the literature used covers a wide spectrum of ways in which to analyse society. 

Written work (60%); several short assignments (40%)

Will be announced in the seminar

None

Participants must be PhD students.

see dates
  • SDG 4 - Quality education: Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all.
Group 0
Date Time Location
Wed 2023-10-11
15.00 - 16.30 SR 11 (Sowi) SR 11 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Wed 2023-10-18
15.00 - 16.30 SR 11 (Sowi) SR 11 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Wed 2023-10-25
15.00 - 16.30 SR 11 (Sowi) SR 11 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Wed 2023-11-08
15.00 - 16.30 SR 11 (Sowi) SR 11 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Wed 2023-11-15
15.00 - 16.30 SR 11 (Sowi) SR 11 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Wed 2023-11-22
15.00 - 16.30 SR 11 (Sowi) SR 11 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Wed 2023-11-29
15.00 - 16.30 SR 11 (Sowi) SR 11 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Wed 2023-12-06
15.00 - 16.30 SR 11 (Sowi) SR 11 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Wed 2023-12-13
15.00 - 16.30 SR 11 (Sowi) SR 11 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Wed 2024-01-10
15.00 - 16.30 SR 11 (Sowi) SR 11 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Wed 2024-01-17
15.00 - 16.30 SR 11 (Sowi) SR 11 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Wed 2024-01-24
15.00 - 16.30 SR 11 (Sowi) SR 11 (Sowi) Barrier-free
Wed 2024-01-31
15.00 - 16.30 SR 11 (Sowi) SR 11 (Sowi) Barrier-free